home about_fang mu credentials conditions treated media and news clinic images faqs directions information testimonials contact links

Knee Pain, Ear Ringing

Dr. Fang Mu has made a big difference in my life. I want to share my experience so others may benefit. Thanks to Dr, Mu I have no more pain in my knee. I no longer limp. Some stiffness still remains which is nothing compared to the way it was before. It was bad. According to my orthopedic surgeon I was headed for total knee replacement surgery. I needed a shopping cart for support just to get into the grocery store. Furthermore, the improvement I am experiencing with my knee has caused my gait to change allowing my feet to correct themselves. My bunion is disappearing.
At first, Dr. Mu concentrated on my knee which was my immediate concern, but I soon learned that the whole body benefits from acupuncture. Unlike taking a pill or getting a shot, acupuncture does take time. I have just completed 15th treatment. In the beginning I went to see Dr. Mu once a week. Now I go every other week. I have complete confidence in Dr. Mu. She is very caring. She listens. The facility is spotless. Each treatment room is private. I think of my treatments as healing time for myself. Gradually, my overall health has improved. I have more energy. The ringing in my ears has stopped. I just learned from my ophthalmologist that I have a cataract forming. I am 68 year old so this did not seem to bother my eye doctor. It bothers me. Dr. Mu has been treating my cataract and I am actually looking forward to my next eye exam.
As a side benefit of acupuncture, I have a renewed interest in taking better care of myself. I know that acupuncture can only do so much and I must do my part. I exercise. I am losing weight. My hair is healthier and has stopped falling out. Things can only continue to get better as I continue with my treatments. My experience at Mu Acupuncture has been life changing. I am so grateful I found Dr. Fang Mu.

Judy, Colfax. NC.

Chronic Skin problem, Rashes, Health Maintain

Dr. Fang Mu, Mu Chinese Acupuncture & Herbs, has brought quality of life changes to my family. Through acupuncture, Chinese herbs and medicines, and lifestyle recommendations, I have seen many wellness issues become manageable or disappear. I was told, by a hand specialist, that I needed surgery to repair damaged ligaments in my thumbs. (Trigger Finger) Instead Dr. Mu used her expertise, herbs, and energy to heal the thumbs on both hands. My husband had similar results with a similar condition.
The most profound healing I have witnessed is the chronic skin condition of my daughter. She came into the world with several sensitivities to foods, environmental contact, and a tender personality to go along with it all. Since infancy, we have battled inflamed and scarring skin rashes, irritations, and overreactions to simple scratches or insect bites. Itching dry skin became open wounds in a short period of time. My worry grew because the healing of the wounds was so slow to come. As soon as a scratch would begin to heal on her arm, a new irritation appeared on her leg. Pediatricians, Family physicians, Dermatologists and even a therapist offered little relief. Topical ointments exacerbated the inflammation.
Dr. Mu began treating my daughter about five months ago. She gave her advice about diet, offered Chinese herbs teas and topical Chinese medicines along with the twice a week acupuncture treatments. With patience and diligence, the treatments worked. Her skin is healing, her energy has increased and we continue to work on overall health, exercise, fresh air and sunshine. I have always valued a natural, holistic and meditative treatment to illness. "Body, heal thyself". My daughter's hour long sessions with focused, calm, and painless rest allowed her skin to restore it's health. Fang Mu will continue to be part of my family's wellness.

Teresa
Greensboro, North Carolina

Health Maintain, Body Balance

I am writing to wholeheartedly recommend the services of Dr. Fang Mu and her practice, Mu Chinese Acupuncture and Herbs. I have been Dr. Mu's patient for over 12 years now. I am 48 years old and, despite having a fast-paced lifestyle and a very stressful job as a criminal defense lawyer, I am blessed with good health. People frequently tell me that I look at least 10 years younger than I actually am. I seem to avoid illness, even during cold and flu season or when everyone else around me gets sick. I attribute my good health and youthful appearance in great part to visiting Dr. Mu on a regular basis and to following her advice as much as I can. I am the only lawyer in my law firm and my clients depend on me to be at work every day. I in turn rely on Dr. Mu to keep me healthy throughout the year.
If you are not familiar with acupuncture and Chinese medicine, it has existed for over 5000 years, long before our current allopathic system of medical care. Acupuncture has no side effects that I know of and works in conjunction with, not against, any traditional medical treatment you may already be receiving. In traditional Chinese society, people visited their acupuncturist on a regular basis when they were healthy and it was the acupuncturist's job to keep them in good health. Of course, this is the opposite of what most of us do today--we tend to only visit our doctor only when we are sick. Traditional medical doctors usually focus on treating the symptoms of an illness and not so much what is causing it. Chinese medicine and Dr. Mu, on the other hand, focus on what is CAUSING the illness and attempt to stop it. Dr. Mu's commonsense approach to diet, exercise, stress management, and a well-balanced lifestyle that focuses on mind, body, and spirit will, in my opinion, greatly increase your chances of staying healthy and should help you feel better if you are experiencing a chronic medical condition.
I visit Dr. Mu every few months to maintain my good health. On the rare occasions that I am sick, I feel that Dr. Mu helps me recover much more quickly than I could have done on my own. It always amazes me how Dr. Mu is able to tell what is wrong with me in less than a minute by simply feeling both of my wrists and examining my tongue. Many people are afraid of needles, which is understandable given what most of us experience when we visit a medical doctor or dentist. While Dr. Mu can treat you without needles, the needles she does use are extremely thin and I rarely experience any discomfort when she applies them. Dr. Mu has a gentle, expert touch and the most I ever feel is the equivalent of a mosquito bite. After she applies the needles or other treatment, Dr. Mu lets her patients rest in a quiet, relaxing room for around 60 minutes. I always fall asleep during my sessions and wake up feeling refreshed. Many of my friends have visited Dr. Mu over the years and they were all amazed at how relaxing the treatments were and at how wonderful they felt when they left the office. Unlike most visits to a medical doctor, trips to Dr. Mu's office are pleasant, relaxing, and affirming experiences that I actually look forward to!
I have noticed that many people end up seeing Dr. Mu as a last resort after all of their other medical treatments have failed. In my opinion, this is the opposite of how it should be. People should visit Dr. Mu regularly and follow her advice to help build a body that is strong enough to fight off illness and disease. If you see Dr. Mu for a chronic medical condition, I encourage you to have realistic expectations and to please be patient. You cannot expect to be cured after one treatment if you have a chronic condition or have not taken care of your body for years. You also cannot expect acupuncture treatments to work long term if you choose not to follow Dr. Mu's advice.
Of course, acupuncture does not cure all conditions. I still visit my medical doctor when necessary and Dr. Mu is the first to tell me if I need to do so. You should always follow your medical doctor's advice and should also tell them that Dr. Mu is treating you as well.
I encourage you, whether you are healthy or sick, to visit Dr. Mu. If you are scared or hesitant to go, bring a friend and let them be present in the room while Dr. Mu treats you. I often bring friends with me and then we have a relaxing dinner or see a movie in High Point or Greensboro after my treatment.
I believe that very few people have the training, knowledge, and understanding of how the human body works that Dr. Mu possesses. We are very fortunate and blessed to have Dr. Mu and her practice here in the Triad. I believe that Dr. Fang Mu is a treasure to our community and I am truly grateful to her for all she has done to keep me healthy and balanced.

John
Winston-Salem, North Carolina

Back Pain

It is the biggest difference in the world to have a day without thoracic back pain as opposed to having to navigate my life around back pain every day. I was alerted to acupuncture by my sister who is an acupuncture devotee for back pain. I now have suggested acupuncture to my other sister who is struggling with venous insufficiency in her lower extremities. Dr Mu takes good care of you and is concerned on every visit as to how you are doing since my treatment began. I tell everybody I know how much acupuncture has helped me.
Rosa
Greensboro, North Carolina


Allergies

For the last 14-15 years I have been suffering from recurring sinus infections and ear infections caused by allergies that always went into acute bronchitis. I stayed on antibiotics, prednisone and other prescribed medications from October through the spring. This last year (2011-2012) was the worst ever. I wound up in the hospital. I decided that I had to try and find something else. After talking to other people and doing research, I finally found Dr. Mu. I started seeing Dr. Mu in November, 2012 and since then have enjoyed the best fall, winter and spring in many years!! I have not been sick once-no antibiotics or any medications!! I have to believe that acupuncture is making the difference. I am so grateful to Dr. Mu for her treatments and advice. My life has been transformed!!
Joyce
Greensboro, N. C.


Shoulder, Leg, Arm Pain, Digestive Problem

I have been coming to Dr. Fang Mu since July 2012. My body doesn't hurt much anymore. She has also been working with my digestion - it is a lot better.
Kelly
Trinity, N. C.


Cerebral Palsy

Hi Fang, thank you again for the wonderful work you have done with our son Josh! We think that your treatments have really helped Josh to improve his core stability. We have seen other acupuncturists and explored many other traditional and alternative therapies for Josh, and we believe that your advanced acupuncture technique which integrates the use of acupuncture needles, massage, exercise and cupping is very impressive. Although Josh has a severe case of cerebral palsy his condition is improving steadily and we are hopeful that due in large part to your treatments he will sit independently within the next month or so, by around the age of two as you predicted. We will be very grateful if you are available to administer more treatments to Josh when we can next come to your area.
Yours truly,
Amy
New York City

Cerebral Palsy

Our daughter Laney, has cerebral palsy. When she was 13, Laney could not stand alone. She used a walker to ambulate. Her speech, while normal in terms of vocabulary, was only intelligible to family members. We first read about acupuncture to treat cerebral palsy in prevention magazine. I searched on the internet for an acupuncturist who was near our home in South Carolina. Fang Mu was on that first search page. When I read that she had an interest in Children with cerebral palsy and was located in Greensboro, a 5 hours drive for us, I called her. She immediately agreed to see us. Laney has been seeing Mrs. Mu since that January, 2004. At first, we saw her twice a week, after 8 month's, we began coming every two weeks and had two visits each time we came. Laney has steadily improved. She now uses crutches but also stands alone and walks in our home without assistance. Her speech is clearer. We also see improvement in other areas such as reading and academic subjects. We attribute much of this to the acupuncture and also the exercises and herbal support Mrs. Mu has suggested. In addition, Mrs. Mu has always shown a great interest in our family. She expects Laney to succeed and in life. She is an encourager as well as doctor. We are pleased with Laney's progress and thankful for Mrs. Mu.
Phyllis
Walterboro, SC.

Infertility

I went to see Dr. Fang Mu, in the hopes of acupuncture helping my husband and I to have our dream come true which was to conceive a healthy baby. Since getting pregnant did not happen for us naturally for a couple of years, we wanted to try this alternative to maximize our chances while we were being evaluated by an infertility specialist. From the first moment, Dr. Mu seemed very knowledgeable and was very caring. It became her goal to help us conceive. Not only did she treat me as a patient but she treated me as a whole being. She would sit with me and tell me inspiring stories during my treatment. She gave me herbal tea and pills and she gave a lot of useful advice on how to live a kind of life that will promote my well-being in general and will help to achieve our goal. All the sudden, I had a new found hope in being able to have a baby, I had more energy and felt happier. And most importantly, in a few months, I found out that I was pregnant. This was the happiest moment in our lives! After our beautiful, healthy baby was born, we went to see Dr. Mu so that she could meet our new addition! Even though, three years have passed since this happened, she is still very much in our minds and we will be forever grateful for all that she had done for our family! Dr. Fang Mu is not only a great doctor but she is one of those people in our lives that we will be always very grateful to have had the honor to be acquainted with.

H.L.A. - North Carolina

Infertility

Hello Dr. Mu,
My name is Lisa XXX and I came to see you in October or November of 2002 for infertility when my husband and I lived in Greensboro. Thanks to your acupuncture and a very effective herbal concoction tea, I gave birth naturally to a beautiful baby girl on June 23, 2003! (Our son was born October 29, 2001 through IVF.) I am very grateful to you for helping me get pregnant naturally with our second child!!!
........
Please let me know if there is any additional information you need from me. My biggest problem right know is finding the energy to really workout hard so I can make effective gains. I am a thin person and putting on muscle is difficult for me.
If there are any herbs that you can recommend, I would truly appreciate it.
Thank you,

Lisa - Fairfax, VA

Breast Cancer

In August of 2004, I was diagnosed with a very aggressive form of breast cancer. I consulted with two oncologists in order to get a first and second opinion about a recommended course of treatment. They were both in agreement that my best course of action was to have 18 weeks of chemotherapy with a 3 drug combination and 30 radiation treatments following the lumpectomy and removal of 12 lymph nodes that I had already undergone. I also spoke with a third doctor, W. Lee Cowden, M.D., and faxed him my pathology reports. I became his patient, and he recommended that, in addition to the Holistic regimen that he prescribed, I locate a Chinese acupuncturist, undergo acupuncture treatments and take Chinese herbs that would be prescribed especially for me to balance my body and help in the fight against cancer. I prayed about this and received an answer to my prayer that directed me to follow the alternative regimen instead of the chemotherapy and radiation. Fang Mu became my acupuncturist. I followed the Holistic regimen, as prescribed by Dr. Cowden of a special diet, supplements, homeopathics, detoxification from environmental toxins, removal of my amalgam dental fillings and subsequent detoxification from mercury. Along with this regimen, Fang Mu administered my acupuncture treatments and formulated a special Chinese herb tea for me to brew and drink every day. As of today, I have had a full body PET/CT scan, two breast MRI's and 5 rounds of tumor marker tests. All of these tests have had normal results. The Lord has worked through Dr. Cowden and Fang Mu to render me cancer free, and I thank Him every day for leading me down this path of healing and light.
Kindest regards,

Emily, Winston-Salem, NC.

Breast Cancer

Back in 2002, I was diagnosed with an aggressive form of breast cancer. After talking with my surgeon, and not being able to reach an agreeable solution for me, which meant no chemotherapy and no radiation, I did some research and talked with a lot of people regarding alternative therapies. I went on line and found an acupuncturist, Dr. Fang Mu. I began weekly treatments with her. She is not only an acupuncturist but also specializes in traditional Chinese Medicine which utilizes herbs for part of the healing. I consider this an essential part of the treatment. Being a pharmacist, and going against Western Medicine this may seem strange. However, one of the more effective chemotherapy agents for breast cancer came from the pacific yew tree. My family practictioner allowed me to go for quarterly ultrasounds of my breast so we would be able to monitor the progress. Dr. Mu got copies of these reports to confirm her therapy was working. The first one showed scar tissue and after that there was nothing. In addition, I have made changes to my diet and lifestyle. I try to follow a macrobiotic diet and practice yoga or tai chi. I was still getting over the death of my parents when I started to go, along with dealing with my daughter who was looking for trouble every chance she got. While the stress in my life hasn't really changed, I just handle it differently. Dr. Mu can always tell when I've had a stressful week or two, by reading pulses. I think sometimes my body holds the stress even though I don't always feel it. The acupuncture is so relaxing I usually fall asleep. Acupuncture can be used for so many things and I have recommended it to many people. Dr. Mu practices traditional Chinese Medicine which is so much more than just an acupuncturist. Her training and skill level far exceed most acupuncturists. I am very happy with the treatment decision I have made along with the outcome.

Patricia, Sunset Beach, NC.

Ulcerative Colitis, Shingles, Unbalance Energy

When I first saw Dr. Mu I had just been advised to have my colon removed and was on 12 different medications and in great GI pain. After a few weekly visits diet change and herbs, I began doing and feeling much better. I always attempt to get a tune up every month and I am not on any western medications for years now.
I woke up one morning with a rash that turned out to be shingles. I went to a US doctor and he told me to take pain meds and some other meds and that it would take about three weeks to go away. I did not get those meds and went to Dr Mu. She spent two hours on me. No pain. Two days later one hour and one more session two days after that. To be sure I kept my one week follow up with the western doc. He took one look and said "That looks great!" I didn't have the heart to tell him the truth. Completely healed in ten days.
Dr Mu is a great person and healer.

JR, Summerfield, NC

Crohn Disease

I was diagnosed with Crohn's Disease thirteen years ago. I had a very severe case. At first, I took all the conventional treatments that were available to me. But it seemed that every time I had a flare-up, it would take me longer to recover. The recurrence of flare-ups happened almost every two years and each time they were stronger leaving me weaker and fragile. It got to the point that I couldn't do anything. My body was literally shutting down. The only thing left for me to do was surgery. Because I had a pre-existing condition, I could not get health insurance and I really thought that even if I could afford the surgery, I really didn't think I could recuperate from it. I had fevers all the time, couldn't eat much, so consequently I was under weight, and because of constant intestinal bleeding, I was anemic most of the time.
I started looking into alternative treatments. I was skeptical like many people could be. But I remember from my childhood how my grandmother used to treat us with herbs and home-made remedies for minor ailments. So I started think very seriously on a different possibility. I did my own research and I discovered that many people were doing the same thing I was doing. (Looking for different alternatives). However, I noticed that some herbs did not work as well for me as they did for other people. I knew that I needed something different. Someone knowledgeable about this sort of the thing and I wanted someone who had some kind of medical background.
I found Mu Acupuncture about five years ago. Dr. Mu has been treating ever since. At first, it was very tough. Treatments were brutal at times. But I kept seeing Dr. Mu; taking all the herbs and acupuncture treatments that she was prescribing to me and following her simple nutritional diet recommendations. It has been taking me a long time to feel this good. But it totally makes sense to me, how the body needs to be nurtured back to health in order to heal itself. And if it took several years to develop a condition or disease, it is logical that it will take some time to recover. I can truly say that Dr. Mu's treatments have been keeping me out of hospitals. I am getting better and stronger by the day. My quality of life has improved tremendously.

Maria, High Point, NC

Chest Pain

I'm in from San Francisco, and was very pleased to have discoverd this acupuncturist. She's first rate, and was very quick to understand and treat successfully ongoing chest pain, which had eluded my regular doc and cardiologist. I did not think I could find someone so experienced out here. Highly recommended.

Andrew, San Francisco, CA

Family Healing

Dear Fang Mu,
I read your testimonial page on your website and would like to add one of my own, maybe titled 'Family Healing'.

For my daughter, Jill -She was the first in the family to visit you several years ago. She was having frequent migraine headaches and tried conventional 'western' treatment with no success. After 3 visits to you her headaches were gone and have not reoccurred!

For my wife Sue -She had a very bad ache in her lower back that did not respond to aspirin-type medications nor physical therapy. At her daughter's recommendation she came to see you and I think it took just 2 visits to cure her backache forever.

For me -I have had 2 separate issues where I have sought your help. The first was a couple years ago when I, too, developed lower back pain. After maybe 3 visits I was 'cured' and the pain has never come back. The second issue is what I am being treated for currently, painful arthritis in my hands plus a very low energy lever. You were able to see my lack of energy by taking my pulse and looking at my tongue. After just 2 visits, my arthritis pain is 99% gone and I no longer feel sluggish during the day.

Thank you, Fang Mu, from our family! .

Mike from Durham, NC

Balance Body Energy

Dear Fang,
Thank you so much for the "supply" of herbs. I really miss you and the girls plus your wonderful healing present! You are such a pure soul and I see God's light shining through you.
Bless you and your family.

Cecily, Oklahoma City.

Balance Body Energy

I started going to Fang Mu to see if I could stop taking the medications I was on. I had been taking an antibiotic for about 8 years for a skin condition called Rosacea. I was also taking a muscle relaxant for restless leg syndrome. After working with Fang Mu for about 6 weeks with acupuncture and herbs, I am now off all medications. My digestive system is more in balance and I have more energy. Somehow in the process, my cholesterol dropped 60 points. I think all this is really good news.
D.M., Greensboro.

Sport Injury

For three years I suffered with a chronic running injury that refused to heal and progressively became more painful. After 20 years of running I was forced to stop completely. I also had to cut back substantially on many routine activities. It was not until I went to Fang Mu that I started to get relief with her acupuncture and Chinese herb medicine treatments I experienced immediate pain relief and the healing process was turned around. I was able to say for the first time in three years that I was getting better rather than worse.

Bill, Greensboro. NC.

Body Balance, Stress, Eye problems

I am so grateful for the help I've gotten seeing Dr. Fang Mu. Several years ago she told me I was under a lot of stress, I didn't understand what she meant. I was in a legal battle with my family over our mother's estate. Constantly I was emotionally and financially betrayed. But I wasn't ready to deal with it.
Things got worse: cysts developed in my eyelids, the white in one of my eyes become entirely blood shot, feeling as if I'd been hit in the eye, I had urinary incontinence, thinning hair and fatigue.
The problem with my eye was serious enough to make me willing to stay with treatment, over time I became willing to do my part: eat pork and chicken, cooked vegetables, not drink as much alcohol and caffeine.
As I kept coming back and eating better I began to get better; this only took 4 1/2 months and I wasn't especially diligent or compliant.
I no longer have to make a mad run for the bathroom, my hair in not dry, brittle or thinning, I have energy and no eye problems.
This is the second time Dr. Fang Mu has helped me regain my health. 10 years ago I was in an auto accident and had whiplash. She placed cups on by back after the accident, the next day my entire back on the side I was hit by the car was bruised: the stress of the impact of the automobile was pulled out of my spine by the cupping. As a result of her treatments I felt better than before the accident.
I'm very fortunate to have Dr. Fang Mu's talent to help me get well..

Jean, Greensboro. North Carolina

Rheumatoid Arthritis

Dear Dr. Fang Mu:

I am writing to express my gratitude to you for the acupuncture treatments and other recommendations that you have given me to relieve pain from rheumatoid arthritis. When I began treatments with you, my hands and wrists were stiff and swollen and I was having difficulty performing simple things such as turning door knobs or turning the key in the car ignition. I was wearing wrist supports on both arms. In addition, my feet and legs were giving me trouble. After just four treatments from you, I see much improvement and have a much more positive attitude about being able to cope with rheumatoid arthritis.
In March 2008, I began having severe pains that migrated from joint to joint in my body. Usually the pain would start late at night or while I was sleeping and would become almost unbearable for four to six hours before it would subside. Sometimes it would be in a shoulder, then maybe in the hip or perhaps the feet. When it got to the point that I was having difficulty just getting out of bed, I went to my family doctor. Suspecting rheumatoid arthritis, the doctor had some blood work done. The factors that indicate rheumatoid arthritis were above normal, and my doctor referred me to a rheumatologist. After an examination and another blood test, she confirmed that I have rheumatoid arthritis. The rheumatologist prescribed plaquenil, a non-steroidal anti inflammatory drug that has mild side effects and told me that it would take two or three months before I would see any results. She said to be patient.
However, after taking the plaquenil for six weeks and seeing no change, I decided to seek an alternative treatment. A friend of mine was looking for an acupuncturist and discovered you in her search. She was very impressed with your credentials and recommended that I contact you. I am so glad that I did. Your treatments have been of great benefit and I have resumed many of my normal activities. Thank you so much!

Very sincerely,

Joyce, Thomasville, NC

Acupuncture and Other Chinese Medicine

Written by Jay, a patient of Dr. Fang Mu; he came to believe in the benefits of acupuncture and Chinese herbal medicine after several treatments noticeably improved his cerebral palsy symptoms.

Chinese acupuncture dates back thousands of years. It is a very complex method of treatment. The acupuncturist inserts needles into certain points on the body, depending on what the patient is being treated for. This helps energy, which the Chinese call Chi, overcome disease causing disruptions, and flow normally through pathways called meridians, improving the patients health and eventually curing their disease.
The earliest type of needles used for acupuncture was called bian (stone needles). Eventually, metal needles came into widespread use. Throughout the ages, many books have been written about acupuncture, including The Nei Jing (The Yellow Emperors Classic of Internal Medicine). The Nei Jing consists of two parts. The first part, The Su Wen (Plain Questions), talks about anatomy, physiology, yin-yang (the two major forces of the Taoist faith), and disease. The second part The Ling Shu (Miraculous Pivot or Spiritual Axis) talks about acupuncture, including the nine types of needles and needling techniques, functions of the zang fu organs and the location of the 160 points.
Acupuncture developed significantly during the Ming dynasty (1568-1644). Points that were not on meridians were added and acupuncture in general was perfected. From 1644-1840, herbal medicine was used by most physicians instead of acupuncture. It was also suppressed after the revolution of 1911 due to the spread of Western medicine. However, it was reintroduced under the leadership of Mao Zedong and is an important part of Chinese medicine today.
All Acupuncture points fall on meridians, or channels of Chi. Most organs have meridians that go to them. If you put a needle on a certain point on a meridian, it will benefit the corresponding organ. A number of different things can be done to needles after they are put into the body, like Raising and Thrusting, Twisting and Rotation, or vibration. Needles can also be inserted at different angles as well. A small electrical current can be applied to the needles for certain treatments such as pain relief. Sometimes, after the needles have been taken out, glass cups of varying sizes are placed on the points where the needles were inserted. Air is sucked out of the glass cups before application so that they can act as a suction cup and cause blood congestion to stimulate the area.
In addition to acupuncture, herbal medicine, acupressure, and moxibustion, may be used to treat the patient. Acupressure is the application of pressure to acupuncture points with either the fingers or an instrument with a hard, ball shaped head. It can be used to treat diseases of the internal organs. Moxibustion is the application of heat to acupuncture points. There are many different Chinese herbs were used to treat a variety of diseases. Different medicines may contain the same herb but differ in production.
No one really knows much about the science behind acupuncture, but a number of theories have been formed. Acupuncture affects antibody and neurotransmitter levels, and can constrict and dilate blood vessels because of the release of Vasodilators like Histamine. It also regulates pain by "closing" parts of the nervous system called "gates" that regulate pain impulses. The gates "close" when they are receiving too many impulses, and some impulses are not felt. In the Western world, many people are skeptical of acupuncture and think that it is a hoax. However many studies on acupuncture conclude that it does help treat many things, such as drug addiction. In my opinion, the Western world should come to appreciate Eastern medicine so that they can benefit from it.

Sources:
Suvow, Scott. "Acupuncture History-China." Scott Suvow,Lic.Acupuncturist-The Art of Acupuncture and Chinese Herbology. N.p., 1998. Web. 25 Sept. 2011.
Singer, Jeffrey A. "Acupuncture.Com - Education - Theory - Acupuncture."Acupuncture.Com - Home of Traditional Chinese Medicine. Cyber Legend Ltd. Web. 25 Sept. 2011.
Acupuncture needles on body. Digital image. Discovery Health "How Acupuncture Works" Discovery Communications, LLC. Web. 25 Sept. 2011.
A variety of Chinese Herbs. Digital image. Chinese Herbs - Ancient Wisdom for Modern Health. Living-chinese-symbols.com. Web. 25 Sept. 2011.




Tel: (336) 885-8898  |  Fax: (336) 436-9138  |  FangMu@muacupuncture.com  |  www.muacupuncture.com